Lake Wylie (Koi )Tea party


11 by 12  inches, watercolor on paper  $200.00

I love the pattern on the Koi at the bottom, I borrowed this pattern from Asian Tattoo artists who  sometimes draw or paint Koi in this manner.

I’ve been busy all week planting and cleaning up my yard.  I try to get as much done now while the good weather is here so I can avoid the heat of summer.  Don’t get me wrong I love summer, just not the humidity!

This morning on my walk I saw a pretty big hawk and later while gardening, I saw another, three black birds were chasing off  the one near my yard.  The other?  I assume he was hunting and I interrupted his attempt for a bunny or chipmunk.

looking ahead, I plan to paint the tree that I drew while at the lake last week, I’ll try to post it soon.

2 thoughts on “Lake Wylie (Koi )Tea party

  1. I noticed the unusual (for you) very stylized scale pattern on the bottom fish right away; my husband pointed out how cat-like you had made the face of the top most fish (he is a big cat lover). The fins seem different from your usual style- are you stretching and experimenting a little, now that it is spring?
    You were doing a series of geisha pictures, have you ever considered doing pictures of koi tattoos on a geisha (or more commonly, on a courtesan). The cover art on “The Courtesans Tattoo” is a good example of this.

Leave a Reply

