a second space to paint


I’m painting in watercolor these days and also in oil…. so I had to set up a small easel in my upstairs bedroom. You can see G man my funny guy giraffe. This is just the first pass and I will tone down the bright blue background. This painting is from my animals with attitude series. I painted it in Watercolor and I decided ….I’ll do this one also in oil.gman

The butterfly above is watercolor and gold leaf… I need to get that painting finished… also a large Koi painting in oil is hanging there and needs to be re-stretched and finished.

7 thoughts on “a second space to paint

  1. It looks like you’re using oil in that bedroom. Is that a good idea?
    I too do both watercolor and oil and paint in oil in a well ventilated area …my garage not my studio.

    • From everything I’ve read and from other Artists… Use of oil paint itself is not a good idea. I do believe the solvents are the worst offenders so I try to use walnut oil for medium and Murphy’s oil soap for cleanup and if I must, odorless mineral spirits. Also, I usually take the paintings outside to dry on my covered porch.

      Its not the best situation but I try to keep it ventilated by using an air purifier. Folks who have painted in oils for 20 to 30 years seems to grow used to it but I will most likely never get used to it.

  2. It looks like you ‘re using oil in that bedroom. Is that a good idea? I too do both watercolor and oil and paint in oil in my garage, not my studio.
    I never really smell fumes but I know they are present.

  3. With havin so much written content do you ever run into
    any issues of plagorism or copyright violation?
    My site has a lot of completely unique content I’ve either authored
    myself or outsourced but it looks like a lot of it is popping it up all over the
    internet without my permission. Do you know any methods to help stop content from being stolen?
    I’d certainly appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

