“Babies” In memory of Barbara Haukenberry


8 by 8   $50.00

Barbara  passed away yesterday, choosing to take her own life.  The pain was too much for her for a long time now and she wasn’t going to be able to live without the help of others.   Both of these things were unbearable for her and I can only say I’m happy that she isn’t suffering any more.    She used to say that for brief moments of each day, she could look at art allowing her mind to take her to a place where she didn’tfeel the pain or see her broken down body.   Art could elevate her to another plane, one where she was well again.   Remember that the next time some one says Art isn’t important.  It was very important to this person and she surrounded herself with art work.  

  She loved my koi and purchased at least twenty Koi paintings.  She and I would discuss the “correct” way to paint the eyes.  She only like round eyes and didn’t care for the humanized eyes so often painted.  She had her opinions and wasn’t afraid to let you know.  She told me that the tail of the Koi was the most impressive part of the Koi and I too often didn’t paint them, which was terrible.   

I tried… for her, to put in a few expressive tails but good composition can’t be compromised for content.    This little painting of Baby Koi was painted in her memory as she loved the “Koi babies”  I painted for her and last year she had a grandchild which seem to lift her spirits for a time.  She really thought that little boy was the greatest thing on earth. 

  Barbara, rest in peace , may you never feel pain again. and wherever your spirit lives, I hope it soars.

One thought on ““Babies” In memory of Barbara Haukenberry

  1. Shanti Marie,
    What lovely words and a beautiful painting of koi babies! Thank you so much for your words and art. I helped Barbara hand so many of your paintings, her living room was her Koi pond! Literally about 18 to 20 different pieces so many of them your works. On three walls, it worked and was awesome.
    I forwarded this to her daughter, who loved the tribute to her Mother.
    Thank you for your appreciation of her. She was a one in a million, and a great friend to me. I miss her so much, I am still sending her e-mails. She is gratefully without pain now, which was her daily experience for so many years, but for when she had focus and distraction thru art and work, she could go past it.
    Thanks again for remembering my friend.
    Anne Myklebust,
    Friend and neighbor to Barbara

Leave a Reply

