Beautiful Earth 05


Photobucket

Today I went to Cramerton ( about 9 miles from my home) with 25 or so local artists and we painted standing in the grass along a winding river.    The scene was a small bend in the river with ducks and submerged logs.  Really very nice, but of course It was about 96 degrees and that was at 5:30 pm…   It didn’t take long for the sun to start to set and the temp to drop, good thing too cause I was melting. Painting plein aire is always a little tricky and today wasn’t an exception. The warm air kept drying out my paper so the first plan to have a nice wet into wet water scene kinda died as the paper was drying faster than I could paint.  Then again the oil painters had  lots of bugs in their paint so I can’t complain…
On to plan B and  I decided to do some exaggerated color and see how that would look.

 

Water Saving Tip: Only wash clothes when you have a full load of clothing, this could save 1000. gallons of H20 per year!

Here’s a picture of my buddy Martha who was painting to the right of me, we were stacked up like cord wood and to be honest, my view was a bit skewed.

This is a photo of the Mannco boys who are Martha’s sons.  The were thrilled to have found along the shorline a fishing line with a  hook and a worm all ready to go.   In this photo you can see them trying to catch dinner. 

 

Here are some of the other artists… there in front is Bob from my Saturday morning drawing sessions.

All in all it turned out well and I left before dark.  Maybe next time I’ll take oil… stuff doesn’t dry out so fast!

One thought on “Beautiful Earth 05

Leave a Reply

