Ancient Ritual #133


DSCF2285
8 by 10 oil on wood 75.00

This series seems to never end. I was planning to paint a red sunset over the lake. I’ve been doing a lot of blue water paintings and thought it would be nice to go to the red side of the color wheel.

After I got the yellow, red and gold on the panel one stroke led to another and all I could do was paint this painting. It took me about a minute to see the sunset wasn’t in the plans for the daily painting. If your new to this series it’s about customs and how we celebrate life’s events and the passing of time with rituals.

 

can you find the koi? 

4 thoughts on “Ancient Ritual #133

  1. I confess I cannot find the koi, but this is quite an interesting departure from your other pictures, kind of an anti-nypheas. It reminds me of another component of Monet’s painting — the ones most notably affected by his glaucoma (or whatever it was). When his eyesight was at its worst, he somehow nevertheless managed to paint pictures with the same overall color balance as he had painted all his life. I’m guessing he was going on habit and experience.

    However, simultaneously he also painted a series of reddish versions of the nympheas themes that perhaps related more to the perception of color he actually had?? (Don’t know.) Got a chance to see some of those late paintings in an exhibit in Baltimore years ago, and they were so amazing.

    They were large pictures. But, again in the jewel-like format, you are exploring a very Monet-ish theme — with perhaps a bit of Joan Mitchell and Howard Hodgkin thrown in too.

    Very nice!

  2. I know its hard to see but I actually had to paint over him to make him less obvious. If you look at the lower left hand corner there is a light sandy colored triangle
    (the Koi’s head) peaking out of the black paint.
    Shanti Marie

  3. Shanti Marie, Ancient Rituals, 8×10 on wood, is fascinating! I couldn’t find the koi, either, but that’s okay. I love the colors, the contrast, balance, rhythm, and all of the blending together in your painting. I’ll be back, looking for another powerful experience like this one.
    Glenn

Leave a Reply

