Spring Koi


koipink72.jpg
6 by 6 watercolor on gessoed masonite $40.00   www.dailypainters.com for pay pal link

I wish I knew how to say no. Lately, I’ve had lots of people asking me for things, big and small… like teach a class at the local high school, hang a show in the fall, chair another art group, write a magazine article, loan them some money for beer, mentor college fine art student for thesis project, assist national artist for their workshop in Charlotte, attend grand opening meeting. This are only the requests for the last week or two.

Now, one of these may stick out as a little different than the rest, sure its easy to spot, its the beer money. I guess I look like the type that will not dismiss them and will at least be nice when I say no if I do say no. Of course I have not been able to say no to any of these folks. Not just the person who comes to me for my spare change but all the others. This is why I tend to rush from one thing to the next. So,…..this year is my year to say no. I’m going to try to cherry pick these tasks and figure out which ones I really enjoy and which one are helping others. I do believe in providing service to others and volunteer to several groups now. The problem comes in when one groups hears you do something for free and they want in on it.

Now that I have written this plan down, I hope I can stick to this plan, I’ll still do things for others and yes I’ll still give my change to people who are down on their luck, (no,don’t write me for money, see I’ve already started))but I won’t say yes to everything that is asked of me.

Leave a Reply

