ACEO Ancient Ritual Series #30


Ancient Ritual15.00 2.5 by 3.5 watercolor on paper.  This ACEO is part of a series I started over a year ago about the way in which we as human mark the passage of time and events in our lives with ritual.    I have a commissioned piece which is about 33 inches by 33 inches. I have been working on it all this week, and I want to try to finish it this weekend. If not, I actually have another week. I always give myself at least three weeks to get a painting complete. One week to think about it one week to do the painting and another week to paint another if I’m not satisfied. So far it works for me.I drew value sketches for the piece in about ten different formats, circle, triangle, steelyard, horizontal, vertical ribbon, cruciform, s or z and of course symmetrical. I really like the vertical ribbon but may do a cruciform to one side of the square with a diagonal fish creating movement pointing up to the cross section. I hope this makes sense its hard to describe what I see in my little brain. I finished my” Koi under the falls” but haven’t posted it yet because I may have to rework one of the fish.

3 thoughts on “ACEO Ancient Ritual Series #30

Leave a Reply

