River Watcher = a landscape painting a day


river watcherThis painting is 15 by 22. I love the colors and the feel of the cool waters. It is for sale for $100.00 USD. If interested e mail me. It’s on 140 lb paper with only professional grade paints & I’ll ship anywhere.

I don’t think I’m going to be able to paint today.
I’m been feeling a little down the last few days. I’m struggling with my larger projects. I have three I’m developing and I cannot get a clear grasp as to what I want to say and why I need to say it. When this happens I tend to fumble and I get moody.

Creativity cannot be forced. It has to come from some place, some inner source that we all call upon. Some art just comes, easily and smoothly, like a gift. Then, like an addict you crave more, painting, painting, and painting, you trying to grasp that creative high so to speak.
When you fall into this depth as an artist you can mire and sink into the muck of mediocrity. This can be bad really bad.

Yes of mediocrity, & you think “how can this be”? Last week I painted one of the best paintings I have ever done. Is that it? Will it return can I get that something back? You talk to yourself, you might try to just say to yourself this will pass, relax, take a break. Sometimes you consider just painting similar subject matter and explore all the possibilities, maybe try to get some of that magic back.

I’ve been painting for awhile and I can say from experience, when there is a major problem with creativity, I find I’m on the verge of a break thru of some kind and I have to wallow a bit into the self doubt realm before I‘m allowed to create something really worth while.

2 thoughts on “River Watcher = a landscape painting a day

  1. I just discovered your blog and I love your work. The comments you made on this one resonated with me, as I have those feelings too — that sense of dissatisfaction and self doubt. After a bit of this, I often switch mediums or try some different or weird technique– and I find that my excitement about the process comes back. Thanks for your insight,
    Paint on,
    Jenna

Leave a Reply

